top of page

Colombia: a country of exchange

Three American siblings chose Colombia as a country of exchange having high expectations here in Colombo Britanico School. The new students Janice, Cianna and Mark Porter are really prepare to live new experiences. They want to know about the Colombian culture, places and traditions.

CCB Times had the great opportunity to talk with them.


Janice and Cianna Porter from 9°D and 8E respectively. Photo by: Juan David Mejia.

Mark Porter from 4°A. Photo by: Juan David Mejia.

Where are you from?

Boston Massachusetts


Why did you choose Colombia as a country of exchange?

​ Because people here are sweet and very warm and I love the climate. It’s really nice. I just really love it here. The food it’s great too.


What are your expectations here?

​Learning Spanish more, getting really good friends, getting a good learning experience and meeting really great people.


How are you feeling lately since you arrived in Colombo Britanico School?

​ Very welcomed. People here are very sweet.


It is the same learning dynamic here as in United States?

​​I don’t think so, it’s a bit different. I’m getting used to it. The people here are nicer and they help you more.


Which Colombian places and meals you like the most?

I love the one that has the salad on the side and pork and rice with beans. I think it’s called bandeja paisa. I love the malls. Those are my favorites and the restaurants in Sabaneta.


How long do you expect to be in Colombia?

3 years I think till collage , I think I want to go to Canada for collage but if not , if I don’t like it I probably study here .


bottom of page